The Mothership: paid artist residencies 2027
The Mothership, Yto Barrada’s artist-led residency in Tangier, invites proposals for spring and autumn 2027. Its natural-dye garden and shared studios suit ecological, textile and research-led practices. Expect to self-fund: single-room stays cost €600 weekly, with two weeks recommended, and no scholarships are currently offered. Accommodation, studio access and breakfast/lunch Tuesday–Saturday are included. Apply by 9 November 2026; the deadline’s time zone is unstated. Check the current FAQ carefully because an older form-linked FAQ differs.
Tangier · Morocco
Before you apply
Check residence and nationality requirements separately, confirm what costs you would cover, and allow time to prepare every required document. This listing is a guide; the organiser makes the eligibility decision.
- Status
- Open
- Organizer
- The Mothership
- Who can apply
- Artists and researchers across disciplines; natural dyes, craft, botany, bio-design and regenerative practices are particularly encouraged. Nationality, legal-residence and career-stage restrictions are not expressly stated. The form asks about Morocco visa needs, indicating international participation, but this is not an unconditional eligibility guarantee.
- Funding & support
- Self-funded; no scholarships currently offered. An invitation letter can support external funding applications.
- Application fees
- EUR600 per week single room; EUR850 per week double room. Partners incur an unspecified additional charge. Thirty percent deposit on acceptance; balance due one month before residency. No separately stated application fee; cancellation/refund terms not found. A stale FAQ linked inside the form says EUR500; current 2027 FAQ, main page and live form agree on the higher rate.
- Travel support
- No travel grant stated. Transfers can be arranged, price unstated; local transport is self-arranged. Visa requirements and expenses need individual checking.
- Accommodation
- Private room/bathroom, shared kitchen and living area, studio access included. Breakfast and lunch Tuesday–Saturday; other meals are the resident’s responsibility.
- Disciplines
- Visual art, Textiles, Craft, Design, Photography, Film, Interdisciplinary research
- Deadline
- 9 November 2026. Exact cutoff time and time zone not stated; apply early.Closing time / timezone not confirmed
- Programme dates
- Spring March–June and autumn September–December 2027. Two weeks recommended; the form permits explaining a shorter request. Confirm exact offered dates because some form date labels contain apparent typos.
- What to prepare
- Practice and project statements (500 words each), equipment/space needs (300), funding plan, dates and duration. Community-event idea (300) and optional work examples/portfolio; up to five uploads,10MB each. Residents provide tools/materials; no material stipend promised.
- How to apply
- Direct application through the organizer-linked 2027 Google Form. Invitation/nomination routes also exist, but the current open call accepts applications. Applicants arrange their own funding and assess payment terms before accepting.
- Selection process
- Selection timetable and detailed criteria not stated in the reviewed sources.
- Admission & access
- Uneven terrain and rocky paths; studios cannot accommodate industrial-scale work or hazardous chemicals. Residents agree to provide project documentation for the organizer’s archive/website.